The Unexpected Waltz

The Unexpected Waltz

By Kim Wright

Gallery Books, Hardcover, 9781476754222, 288pp.

Publication Date: June 3, 2014

From the author of the critically acclaimed debut "Love in Mid Air" comes this moving novel about a middle-aged widow who finds her feet by embracing a new hobby: ballroom dancing.
Kelly Wilder becomes recently widowed from a much older wealthy man with whom she spent her married life doing charity work, building a lovely home, and, as she says, "pretending to be a whole lot more conservative and stupid and nicer than I really am."
Now, with too much time and money on her hands, Kelly has absolutely no idea what happens next. So on a whim she signs up for a ballroom dancing class, and slowly, step by high-heeled step, begins to rebuild her life with the help of friends old and new: Nik, a young Russian dance teacher who sees the artistic potential she left behind; Carolina, a woman in hospice, anxious to experience a whole lifetime in a few months; and Elyse, Kelly's girlhood best friend who knows all of her past secrets--including the truth about the man who long ago broke Kelly's heart.
In the vein of Jennifer Weiner's novels, "Unexpected Waltz" is a deeply felt story about moving on after loss and finding a new walk--or dance--of life through the power of second chances.

About the Author
Kim Wright is the author of "Love in Mid Air", "The Unexpected Waltz, "and "The Canterbury Sisters. "A two-time winner of the Lowell Thomas Award for travel writing, she has been writing about travel, food, and wine for more than twenty years for magazines such as "Wine Spectator", "Self", "Travel & Leisure", and "Vogue". She also ballroom dances competitively. Kim lives in Charlotte, North Carolina.