Luckiest Girl Alive

Luckiest Girl Alive Cover

Luckiest Girl Alive

By Jessica Knoll

Simon & Schuster, Hardcover, 9781476789637, 352pp.

Publication Date: May 12, 2015

Description
***AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER***
Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will thrill at the perfect page-turner to start your summer (People, Book of the Week): Luckiest Girl Alive described by Reese Witherspoon as one of those reads you just can t put down
Loved Gone Girl? We promise Luckiest Girl Alive is] just as addictive.
Good Housekeeping

Jessica Knoll introduces you to your new best frenemy, and you re going to love it. . . .Destined to become one of the summer's most gripping reads.
Bustle.com

With the cunning and verve of Gillian Flynn but an intensity all its own, Luckiest Girl Alive is a debut you won t want to miss.
Megan Abbott, author of Dare Me and The Fever

Luckiest Girl Alive is Gone Girl meets Cosmo meets Sex and the City. . . . Knoll hits it out of the park.
Fort Worth Star-Telegram

HER PERFECT LIFE IS A PERFECT LIE.
As a teenager at the prestigious Bradley School, Ani FaNelli endured a shocking, public humiliation that left her desperate to reinvent herself. Now, with a glamorous job, expensive wardrobe, and handsome blue blood fiance, she's this close to living the perfect life she's worked so hard to achieve.
But Ani has a secret.
There's something else buried in her past that still haunts her, something private and painful that threatens to bubble to the surface and destroy everything.
With a singular voice and twists you won t see coming, Luckiest Girl Alive explores the unbearable pressure that so many women feel to have it all and introduces a heroine whose sharp edges and cutthroat ambition have been protecting a scandalous truth, and a heart that's bigger than it first appears.
The question remains: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for or, will it at long last, set Ani free?


Praise For Luckiest Girl Alive
Jessica Knoll, a former Cosmopolitan magazine editor, makes an adroit debut in book publishing with her novel, Luckiest Girl Alive.Ani FaNelli is an editor at a women's magazine in New York City, and engaged to the JFK, Jr.-esque Luke Harrison. Before Ani ties the knot, she agrees to be interviewed for a documentary about the devastating events that occurred while she was a student at an august prep school in Pennsylvania. The tragedy rudely thrust her into the public eye 14 years earlier, and Ani finally wants to set the record straight. In doing so, she could also unravel her seemingly perfect world. Ani may come across as snarky and shallow at first, going to great lengths to curate an enviable life, complete with a glamorous job, aristocratic fiancE and four-carat engagement ring. But as her secrets are revealed, so is her vulnerable side. What happened to her as a teen--and is happening now too often to young people in real life--would destroy the average person, but it fueled Ani to strive for the brass ring. To her, success is the best revenge, and readers will want her to achieve it.Knoll writes with verity about Ani's workplace: "The uglier and trendier [my] outfit, the stronger I emanate intimidating magazine editor." Similes are arguably overused, but many descriptions are incisive and witty, such as a girl's eyes being "so far apart they were practically in her sideburns." Knoll balances the sharp with the sad, creating a protagonist who has pieces of both. COPYRIGHT(2015) Shelf Awareness, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.