Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Red Butterfly

Red Butterfly Cover

Red Butterfly

By A. L. Sonnichsen; Amy June Bates (Illustrator)

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9781481411097, 400pp.

Publication Date: February 3, 2015

Advertisement
Description
A young orphaned girl in modern-day China discovers the meaning of family in this inspiring story told in verse, in the tradition of Inside Out and Back Again and Sold.

Kara never met her birth mother. Abandoned as an infant, she was taken in by an American woman living in China. Now eleven, Kara spends most of her time in their apartment, wondering why she and Mama cannot leave the city of Tianjin and go live with Daddy in Montana. Mama tells Kara to be content with what she has...but what if Kara secretly wants more?

Told in lyrical, moving verse, Red Butterfly is the story of a girl learning to trust her own voice, discovering that love and family are limitless, and finding the wings she needs to reach new heights.
Advertisement