Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Not Quite Narwhal

Not Quite Narwhal Cover

Not Quite Narwhal

By Jessie Sima; Jessie Sima (Illustrator)

Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9781481469098, 40pp.

Publication Date: February 14, 2017

Advertisement
Description
In the tradition of Uni the Unicorn and Gaston, this heartwarming and adorable debut picture book tells the story of a young unicorn who was born under the sea to a family of narwhals.
Growing up in the ocean, Kelp has always assumed that he was a narwhal like the rest of his family. Sure, he's always been a little bit different--his tusk isn't as long, he's not as good of a swimmer, and he really doesn't enjoy the cuisine. Then one night, an extra strong current sweeps Kelp to the surface, where he spots a mysterious creature that looks just like him Kelp discovers that he and the creature are actually unicorns. The revelation leaves him torn: is he a land narwhal or a sea unicorn? But perhaps, if Kelp is clever, he may find a way to have the best of both worlds.
Told with heartwarming illustrations and spare, sweet text, Jessie Sima's debut picture book is about fitting in, standing out, and the all-encompassing love of family.
Advertisement