Breaking Sky

Breaking Sky Cover

Breaking Sky

By Cori McCarthy

Sourcebooks Fire, Paperback, 9781492621126, 432pp.

Publication Date: February 7, 2016

Description

She lives for speed. She'll die for love.

A high-flying, adrenaline-fueled thriller for fans of Divergent and The Young Elites. "Breaking Sky is an action-packed thrill ride." --Carrie Jones, New York Times bestselling author of the Need series.

Chase Harcourt, call sign "Nyx," isn't one to play it safe. America is locked in a cold war -- and the country's best hope is the elite teen fighter pilots of the United Star Academy. Chase is one of only two daredevil pilots chosen to fly an experimental "Streaker" jet. But few know the pain and loneliness of her past. All anyone cares about is that Chase aces the upcoming Streaker trials, proving the prototype jet can knock the enemy out of the sky.

But as the world tilts toward war, Chase cracks open a military secret. There's a third Streaker, whose young hotshot pilot, Tristan, can match her on the ground and in the clouds. Chase doesn't play well with others. But to save her country, she may just have to put her life in the hands of the competition.

Breaking Sky is a gritty coming of age tale with tons of action, a fascinating dystopian society, humor, friendship, romance and heart-stopping, high-stakes flying that will leave you on the edge of your seat. Breaking Sky has also been optioned for film by Sony Pictures.

"Smart, exciting, confident-and quite possibly the next Big Thing."-Kirkus

"Had me in its grip from take-off to landing. Chase is a kick-butt female and the swoon-worthy flyboys kept me up way past my bedtime." -Joy N. Hensley, author of Rites of Passage

"A non-stop thrill ride... will keep you reading at the speed of sound. Breaking Sky is one of the most exciting reads of the year." --Thomas E. Sniegoski, New York Times bestselling author of The Fallen series

"McCarthy puts her characters in increasingly tense situations, testing them to the breaking point... A] crazy-cool story."-Booklist