Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Dead Inside

The Dead Inside Cover

The Dead Inside

A True Story

By Cyndy Etler

Sourcebooks Fire, Hardcover, 9781492635734, 304pp.

Publication Date: April 4, 2017

Advertisement
Description

For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak, Cyndy Etler's gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her sixteen months in the notorious -tough love- program the ACLU called -a concentration camp for throwaway kids.-

I never was a badass. Or a slut, a junkie, a stoner, like they told me I was. I was just a kid looking for something good, something that felt like love. I was a wannabe in a Levi's jean jacket. Anybody could see that. Except my mother. And the professionals at Straight.

From the outside, Straight Inc. was a drug rehab. But on the inside it was...well, it was something else.

All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her violent home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a -drug rehabilitation- facility that changed her world.

To the public, Straight Inc. was a place of recovery. But behind closed doors, the program used bizarre and intimidating methods to -treat- its patients. In her raw and fearless memoir, Cyndy Etler recounts her sixteen months in the living nightmare that Straight Inc. considered -healing.-

Advertisement