The Bloodlight Chronicles

Reconciliation

By Steve Stanton
(ECW Press, Paperback, 9781550229547, 240pp.)

Publication Date: September 2010

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Paperback, Paperback, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Despite its futuristic technical trappings, enduring family bonds are at the core of this riveting techno-thriller. An alien virus that prolongs life has infected a couple, Zakariah and Mia Davis, and made their blood a valuable black-market staple due to its rejuvenating effects. The “eternal virus” has not affected their son Rix, and Zakariah is consumed with the search for an active sample to inoculate the teenager against mortality. To succeed, Zakariah surgically wired his brain for the global computer network, a virtual cyber-economy controlled by avatars. Busted for transporting grain without a permit and on the run from the government and the Eternal Research Institute, Zakariah must travel off-planet through a commercial wormhole alongside his new business partner and surgical cyber-twin, Helena Sharp, who is seeking the source of immortality for her own purposes. In the Cromeus colonies, on the other side of time and space, Zakariah will risk everything to give his son eternal life.




About the Author

Steve Stanton is a writer who currently serves as the vice president of SF Canada, the nation's bilingual organization of science fiction, fantasy and horror writers. His short fiction has been published in 12 countries, including translations into Hebrew, Greek, Italian, and Romanian. He lives in Washago, Ontario.




Praise For The Bloodlight Chronicles

"ECW’s first sf title revitalizes the cyber-fiction genre with its vivid prose and believable characters. Verdict: Stylistically streamlined, this vibrant series opener should appeal to fans of Bruce Sterling and William Gibson." —Library Journal



"Reconciliation, the first book of the trilogy, can be read on two levels, the literal and the metaphorical. Literally, the book is an exciting read. Metaphorically, it is a subtle invitation to the reader to consider the place of spirit within the cosmos and within themselves."  —On Spec Magazine



"On the road much travelled of neo-cyberpunk, The Bloodlight Chronicles manages to tell a suspenseful and lean story not about glazing-eyes tech gone crazy but about gifted, yet human-sized characters we care about, with some welcome twists on beloved already classics."  —Élisabeth Vonarburg, award-winning SF author



"This tale should appeal to science fiction readers, especially those who enjoy the virtual worlds and considering where computers and the internet may eventually lead us. Well-written, this volume resolves enough of its plot issues to satisfy, while leaving the door wide open to continue the  adventure. Recommended."  —Canadian Review of Materials



"The characters are unique and extremely well rounded."  —Night Owl Sci Fi



"Stanton is an excellent writer of science fiction. Highly recommended."  —Bookgateway.com

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile