On Sal Mal Lane

By Ru Freeman
(Graywolf Press, Hardcover, 9781555976422, 386pp.)

Publication Date: May 14, 2013

List Price: $26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the June 2013 Indie Next List
“In 1983, the Sri Lankan tensions between the Tamils and the Sinhalese broke into civil war. On quiet, secluded Sal Mal Lane, the Horvaths and their neighbors are not sheltered from the turmoil, and the prejudices of the greater world find their way onto their secluded street. The coming of age of the children on Sal Mal Lane and the loss of one innocent in particular shatters their world. On Sal Mal Lane is a beautifully written, heartbreaking story of a foreign yet somehow familiar time and place.”
-- Ellen Richmond, Children's Book Cellar, Waterville, ME


Description

In the tradition of "In the Time of the Butterflies" and "The Kite Runner," a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war


* A "Library Journal "Best Indie Fiction of 2013 * A "Largehearted Boy "Best Book of the Year *


On the day the Herath family moves in, Sal Mal Lane is still a quiet street, disturbed only by the cries of the children whose triumphs and tragedies sustain the families that live there. As the neighbors adapt to the newcomers in different ways, the children fill their days with cricket matches, romantic crushes, and small rivalries. But the tremors of civil war are mounting, and the conflict threatens to engulf them all.
In a heartrending novel poised between the past and the future, the innocence of the children--a beloved sister and her overprotective siblings, a rejected son and his twin sisters, two very different brothers--contrasts sharply with the petty prejudices of the adults charged with their care. In Ru Freeman's masterful hands, "On Sal Mal Lane," a story of what was lost to a country and her people, becomes a resounding cry for reconciliation.




About the Author
Ru Freeman is the author of "A Disobedient Girl". She is an activist and journalist whose work appears internationally. She calls both Sri Lanka and America home.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile