Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Grover Cleveland

Grover Cleveland Cover

Grover Cleveland

The American Presidents Series: The 22nd and 24th President, 1885-1889 and 1893-1897

By Henry F. Graff; Jr. Arthur M. Schlesinger (Editor); Ira Claffey (Read by)

Macmillan Audio, Audio Cassette, 9781559277365

Publication Date: August 1, 2002


A fresh look at the only president to serve nonconsecutive terms

Having run for President three times, gaining the popular vote majority each time—despite losing the electoral college in 1892—Cleveland was unique in the line of nineteenth-century Chief Executives. Graff revives Cleveland’s rags-to-riches story, explaining how he fought to restore stature to the office in the wake of several weak administrations. A fascinating account of the political world that created American leaders before the advent of modern media.

About the Author
Henry F. Graff is a professor emeritus of history at Columbia University, where he taught his pioneering seminar on the presidency. The author of "The Tuesday Cabinet" and the reference work "The Presidents," he is a frequent commentator on radio and television. He lives in New York.

Ira Claffey has narrated or co-narrated numerous audio titles from Macmillan Audio. His work includes "Rock Rats," "Thomas Jefferson," "Rutherford B. Hayes," "Dwight D. Eisenhower," "John Quincy Adams," "Grover Cleveland," "James Madison," and "Theodore Roosevelt." Of Ira's narration of "Theodore Roosevelt," "AudioFile" magazine has said, "Ira Claffey's passionate but cultivated voice is the perfect medium in which to join two men of refinement."