How Karma Works

The Twelve Links of Dependent-Arising

By Geshe Sonam Rinchen; Ruth Sonam (Editor)
(Snow Lion Publications, Paperback, 9781559392549, 139pp.)

Publication Date: July 2006

List Price: $19.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.



We all want to find happiness and be free from suffering. Happiness comes from positive mental states and actions, and suffering from the opposite. The twelve-part process of dependent arising shows how actions underlain by ignorance propel us from one rebirth into another, keeping us trapped in suffering, and how through understanding reality correctly we can break this cycle. The four noble truths, the twelve links of dependent arising, and the two truths regarding conventional and ultimate reality, all interrelated, form the very core of the Buddha's teaching. The many different practices of sutra and tantra become meaningful and purposeful only when they are based on a good understanding of these fundamental and seminal principles. This oral teaching by Geshe Sonam Rinchen is based on the Rice Seedling Sutra and the twenty-sixth chapter of Nagarjuna's Treatise on the Middle Way.

About the Author
Geshe Sonam Rinchen is a highly respected teacher at the Dalai Lama's Library of Tibetan Works and Archives in Dharamsala, India, and author of many books. He lives in India.

Sonam was raised in Ireland and graduated from Oxford University with an M.A. in Modern Languages. She began studying with Geshe Sonam Rinchen in 1978 and has worked as his interpreter since 1983.

Praise For How Karma Works

“Ruth Sonam's clear translations . . . offer easily accessible commentaries on the teachings suitable for practitioners at all levels." —The Middle Way

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound

Update Profile