Eros the Bittersweet

Eros the Bittersweet

By Anne Carson

Dalkey Archive Press, Paperback, 9781564781888, 190pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 1998

Description
A book about romantic love, "Eros the Bittersweet"is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's "Spring and All" and William H. Gass's "On Being Blue.


About the Author
Anne Carson was born in Canada and teaches ancient Greek for a living. A former MacArthur Fellow, awards for her numerous books include the T.S. Eliot Prize and The Los Angeles Times Book Prize. Red Doc> was recently awarded the Griffin Poetry Prize and the inaugural Folio Prize. Her first full poetry collection, SHORT TALKS, was published by Brick Books in 1992 and is now presented as a new edition in 2015: SHORT TALKS: BRICK BOOKS CLASSICS 1.