Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Eros the Bittersweet

Eros the Bittersweet Cover

Eros the Bittersweet

By Anne Carson

Dalkey Archive Press, Paperback, 9781564781888, 190pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 1998

Description
A book about romantic love, "Eros the Bittersweet"is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's "Spring and All" and William H. Gass's "On Being Blue.


About the Author
Anne Carson is the author of "Glass, Irony and God"; "Autobiography of Red"; "The Beauty of the Husband"; "Men in the Off Hours"; and other books.