Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

World Spice at Home

World Spice at Home Cover

World Spice at Home

New Flavors for 75 Favorite Dishes

By Amanda Bevill; Julie Kramis Hearne; Charity Burggraaf (Photographer)

Sasquatch Books, Paperback, 9781570619076, 226pp.

Publication Date: September 30, 2014

Advertisement
Description
Fans of Yotam Ottolenghi's "Plenty" and "Jerusalem" will be thrilled with the exciting new spice profiles in these 75 recipes. This book brings the world's exotic spices to your home kitchen to breath new life into favorite, familiar, and traditional dishes with wonderful new flavors. Transform a grilled ribeye steak using an Arabic baharat spice blend; add drama to your carrot cake using Kashmiri garam masala. Spices add gratifying dimension to foods, and while the spice blends come from around the world, these recipes are friendly and familiar.


About the Author
AMANDA BEVILL, owner of World Spice in Seattle's Pike Place Market, is a maven of the big and beautiful world of spices and blends. JULIE KRAMIS HEARNE received her training at the Culinary Institute of America and worked as a chef at The Herbfarm Restaurant. She is co-author of three cookbooks. Both authors live in Seattle, WA.


NPR
Wednesday, Dec 10, 2014

2014 was a year for faraway cuisines to take up residence in U.S. kitchens � cookbook authors cast their nets for flavors from Paris, the Middle East, Southeast Asia and points in between. More at NPR.org

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.

Advertisement