A Whole New Mind

Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future

By Daniel H. Pink
(Riverhead Hardcover, Hardcover, 9781573223089, 272pp.)

Publication Date: March 24, 2005

Other Editions of This Title: Compact Disc, MP3 CD, MP3 CD, Compact Disc, MP3 CD, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Fall '08/Winter '09 Reading Group List
“A Whole New Mind is an amazing scientific and self-help book that argues that, in order to succeed in modern life, one must become more creative -- or, use not only the logical left brain but also the right brain, a center for emotional thinking and synthesis. Pink very convincingly argues this point and gives many suggestions for ways to increase creativity.”
-- Eric Berg, Book Ends, Winchester, MA


Description

Lawyers. Accountants. Radiologists. Software  engineers. That's what our parents encouraged us to become when we grew up. But Mom and Dad were wrong. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind. The era of "left brain" dominance, and the Information Age that it engendered, are giving way to a new world in which "right brain" qualities-inventiveness, empathy, meaning-predominate. That's the argument at the center of this provocative and original book, which uses the two sides of our brains as a metaphor for understanding the contours of our times.

 

In the tradition of Emotional Intelligence and Now, Discover Your Strengths, Daniel H. Pink offers a fresh look at what it takes to excel. A Whole New Mind reveals the six essential aptitudes on which professional success and personal fulfillment now depend, and includes a series of hands-on exercises culled from experts around the world to help readers sharpen the necessary abilities. This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.

 




About the Author

Daniel H. Pink is the author of five books, including To Sell Is Human and the long-running New York Times bestsellers A Whole New Mind and Drive. His books have been translated into thirty-three languages and have sold more than a million copies in the United States alone. Pink lives with his family in Washington, D.C.




Praise For A Whole New Mind

"This book is a miracle. On the one hand, it provides a completely original and profound analysis of the most pressing personal and economic issue of the days ahead--how the gargantuan changes wrought by technology and globalization are going to impact the way we live and work and imagine our world. Then Dan Pink provides an equally original and profound and practical guidebook for survival--and joy--in this topsy turvy environment..."
— Tom Peters, author of In Search of Excellence

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile