Prozac Nation

Prozac Nation

By Elizabeth Wurtzel; Wurtzel

Riverhead Books, Paperback, 9781573225120, 384pp.

Publication Date: October 1, 1995

Description
"Abook that became a cultural touchstone." -- "The New Yorker"
Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an overdiagnosedgeneration whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues.In this famousmemoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of "Girl, Interrupted "andSylvia Plath's "The Bell Jar.


About the Author
Elizabeth Wurtzel graduated from Harvard College, where she received the 1986 Rolling Stone College Journalism award for essay writing. She was the popular-music critic for The New Yorker and New York magazine. Her articles have also appeared in Mademoiselle, Mirabella, Seventeen\ and The Oxford American. She lives in New York City.



Praise For Prozac Nation



"Wrenching and comical, self-indulgent and self-aware, Prozac Nation possesses the raw candor of Joan Didion's essays, the irritating emotional exhibitionism of Sylvia Plath's The Bell Jar, and the wry, dark humor of a Bob Dylan song."—The New York Times

"Wurtzel is a very entertaining nut case. Reading this book is like being locked up with her, covering your ears or laughing out loud, depending on your perspective. Prozac Nation gives a view of every aspect of depression: the self-pity, the courage, the flashes of insight, the despair, and the endless, very moving struggle, simply, to live." —Jeffrey Eugenides

"[Wurtzel] is smart, she is funny...she is thoughtful and...she is very, very brave. Wurtzel portrays, from the inside out, an emotional life perpetually spent outrunning the relentless pursuit of what she describes as a black wave, often sacrificing her likability on the altar of her truth."—Vanity Fair

"Sylvia Plath with the ego of Madonna." —The New York Times Book Review

"The saddest, funniest, and ultimately, most triumphant book about youthful depression I've come across. It reads like a mixture of J.D. Salinger and Sylvia Plath, with some Bob Dylan and Bruce Springsteen thrown in for good measure...[Wurtzel] is one canny and entertaining observer of her generation: if you've been wondering why Kurt Cobain meant what he did—what it feels like to be young, gifted, and black of spirit—this book is the CD, tape, video, and literary answer all in one."—Daphne Merkin, author of Enchantment

"The Courtney Love of letters... You can disagree with Wurtzel, but at least she always has a passionate point of view." —Entertainment Weekly

"... The preposterous energy of a great, drunken tantrum, and a voluptuous, sprawling style, with lots of good, zinging jokes." Mary Gaitskill