Nothing Serious

By Daniel Klein
(The Permanent Press, Hardcover, 9781579623142, 212pp.)

Publication Date: April 1, 2013

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, MP3 CD, Compact Disc, Compact Disc

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
Stoned out of his skull! This is how we find washed-up New York Magazine writer, Digby Maxwell, when he is offered his last chance to redeem himself by becoming editor of a small philosophy magazine headquartered in a rural Vermont college-town.

Digby's assignment: to make the philosophy magazine relevant to contemporary culture. For starters, that requires several more tokes. Very deep tokes.

A Wildly witty novel in the tradition of J.P. Donleavy and Nick Hornsby, Nothing Serious takes serious pot shots at Manhattan pop culture and academic small-mindedness, sexual obsessions and political correctness, 21st-century alienation and philosophers ranging from Aristotle to Sartre.



About the Author
DANIEL KLEIN is the author of The History of Now, winner of Foreword Magazine's Silver Award for best literary novel of 2009. He is also co-author of the international bestseller Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar, and author of the 2012 bestseller, Travels with Epicurus. A graduate of Harvard in philosophy, Klein lives in Great Barrington, Massachusetts.


Praise For Nothing Serious
"Klein is a master of relevant social commentary, and his background as a writer of both mysteries and philosophy is clearly evident, resulting in an exceptional story sprinkled with philosophical overtones and rounded out with the perfect amount of symbolism and allegory. Look to J. P. Donleavy or Nick Hornby for apt comparisons." - Booklist, starred review

"You don’t have to be, or have been, an academic to enjoy the send up here or what turns out to be an eccentric but engaging love story." - NPR

“. . . a rollicking farce . . . a tightly plotted comedic tale with a genuine emotional center and a sharp satirical wit.” - NY Journal of Books

"All told, Nothing Serious is an amusing and intelligent novel whose title and beguiling narrative belie the depth of the ideas that Klein is working with. Humanity, the novel ultimately suggests, will never figure it all out, but that doesn't matter. What matters is that we keep trying." - Small Press Reviews

"A great read with an unexpectedly inconclusive ending that’s really just the icing on the cake." - San Francisco Book Review
Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile