Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The White Mare

The White Mare Cover

The White Mare

By Jules Watson

Overlook Press, Hardcover, 9781585676200, 480pp.

Publication Date: February 17, 2005

Advertisement
Description
It is AD 79 and Agricola, the ruthless governor of Roman Britain, is turning his attentions to the last unconquered territory in Britain--Alba, Scotland. Rhiann is a courageous and beautiful Scottish priestess scarred by her violent past. Of noble blood, she faces a forced marriage to protect the freedom of her people. Eremon is an enigmatic Irish prince, an exile, who must seek an alliance elsewhere to regain his throne. Will he prove himself the man who can unite the squabbling Celtic tribes against the more ominous threat of Rome? With war looming for her people, Rhiann finds herself drawn into an unexpected journey of the spirit and heart, which will reveal the true purpose of her life. For fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley and Diana Galbadon, The White Mare immerses the reader in its atmospheric world of magic and mysticism, love and treachery, from first page to last.


About the Author
Jules Watson came to fiction via archaeology and public relations, working most recently as a freelance writer. She and her Scottish husband divide their time between Britain and New Zealand.
Advertisement