The White Mare

The Dalraida Trilogy, Book One

By Jules Watson
(Overlook Books, Hardcover, 9781585676200, 480pp.)

Publication Date: February 17, 2005

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Vividly atmospheric, thrillingly alive with Celtic ritual and magic, The White Mare is the acclaimed first novel in Jules Watson's epic Dalriada Trilogy. Spanning three centuries, the series recreates Celtic Britain at the time of the Roman invasion: a land of visions and dreams, bloodshed and brutal death.

It is AD 79 and Agricola, the ruthless governor of Roman Britain, is turning his attentions to the last unconquered territory in Britain--Alba, Scotland. Rhiann is a courageous and beautiful Scottish priestess scarred by her violent past. Of noble blood, she faces a forced marriage to protect the freedom of her people. Eremon is an enigmatic Irish prince, an exile, who must seek an alliance elsewhere to regain his throne. Will he prove himself the man who can unite the squabbling Celtic tribes against the more ominous threat of Rome? With war looming for her people, Rhiann finds herself drawn into an unexpected journey of the spirit and heart, which will reveal the true purpose of her life. For fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley and Diana Galbadon, The White Mare immerses the reader in its atmospheric world of magic and mysticism, love and treachery, from first page to last.




About the Author

Jules Watson came to fiction via archaeology and public relations, working most recently as a freelance writer. She and her Scottish husband divide their time between Britain and New Zealand.




Praise For The White Mare

"Jules Watson has conjured up the mythic past, a land of Celtic legend and stark grandeur…fascinating and unforgettable." --Sharon Kay Penman

"Watson deftly blends fact and fancy, action and romance in her splendid historical fantasy." -- Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Watson presents an ancient Scotland peopled by strong-minded women and powered by ancient, goddess-based magic...tightly laced with romantic tension, treachery, and cliffhangers aplenty" --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A fine historical epic"--Woman's Own

"It requires a special sort of imagination to create a plausible vision of Britain at the time of the Roman conquest. Jules Watson's White Mare, the first in an epic trilogy of life in Celtic Britain, rises effortlessly to the challenge." – Daily Express

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile