Daughter of Providence

Daughter of Providence Cover

Daughter of Providence

By Julie Drew

Overlook Press, Hardcover, 9781590204627, 320pp.

Publication Date: August 4, 2011

Description
Julie Drew's extraordinary novel is a breakthrough work in the tradition of Richard Russo and Annie Proulx. summer, 1934: Anne Dodge, raised by her old-money father in a small Rhode island coastal town, has always been told that her mother abandoned them. But then Anne learns that she has a half- sister, Maria Cristina --and when Maria Cristina comes to live with Anne and her father, ugly truths begin to surface about the family Within a context of jazz, the end of Prohibition, and stifling gender expectations, Daughter of Providence is a gripping and seductive summer read. this story of loss and rediscovery will resonate with readers long after the final page.


About the Author
Julie Drew is Professor of English at The University of Akron in Ohio, where she teaches creative writing, cultural studies, and film. When she and her family are not in Akron, they are in RI, in a delightful little roundhouse in the woods. Julie's first novel, DAUGHTER OF PROVIDENCE, was published by Overlook Press in 2011, to enthusiastic reviews, after which she jumped right into THE TESLA EFFECT trilogy. GLIMPSE will be followed quickly by RUN and then BREATHE. Learn more about forthcoming books and communicate with the author at www.juliedrew.com.