The Eye of the Virgin

By Frederick Ramsay
(Poisoned Pen Press, Hardcover, 9781590587607, 250pp.)

Publication Date: July 1, 2010

Other Editions of This Title: Audio Cassette, Compact Disc, Compact Disc, MP3 CD, Paperback, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

On the same evening that a body is found in Picketsville’s urgent care clinic, a mysterious break-in occurs at the house of one of Callend University’s faculty. Both seem to be connected to an icon, The Virgin of Tenderness, in the faculty member’s possession. The fact that the body is that of the faculty member’s ex-wife’s lover who, more interestingly seems to have entered the country under an assumed name only complicates things for Sherriff Ike Schwartz. In the search for killers and thieves, what appears to be outdated spycraft, a microdot, is found on the icon. In an era of sophisticated cyber-encrypted information transfer, the presence of this bit of CIA nostalgia brings in Charlie Garland and the forces from Langley.

Ike has no wish to engage with them or their problems. He has killers to apprehend and sets out to do his job in spite of the meddling by government agencies. That the bit of spycraft is something more than old time microphotography and it carried information that implicates the involvement of Israel’s super secret Mossad only complicates an already messy set of problems. A dead CIA agent, a rogue handler, and a potential international incident are avoided outside the faculty member’s house as the good, the bad, and the ugly are neatly sorted and carted away. During the course of all this, Ruth’s mother arrives for an extended visit, Ike and Ruth are officially engaged, and the Sutherlins, Billy, Frank, and Essie, like Dilsey Gibson, endure.




About the Author

Dr. Frederick Ramsay was born in Baltimore, Maryland. He received his doctorate from the University of Illinois. After a stint in the Army, he joined the faculty of the University of Maryland, School of Medicine. In 1971 he was ordained an Episcopal priest. He is the author of several scientific and general articles, tracts, theses, and co-author of The Baltimore Declaration. He is an accomplished public speaker and once hosted a television spot, Prognosis, on the evening news for WMAR-TV, Baltimore. He is also an iconographer with works displayed around the world. He lives in Surprise, Arizona with his wife and partner, Susan.




Praise For The Eye of the Virgin

"The sixth in this series has Ramsay's trademark folksy touch, a well-rounded cast of characters, and brisk and believable dialogue, this time with an international scope. Ike Schwartz's outings just keep getting better."  -- Booklist

"Sure-footed plotting and easy banter make Ramsay's sixth Sheriff Ike mystery (Choker, 2009, etc.) a brisk, entertaining read."   -- Kirkus Reviews

"Mixing down-home police work, CIA maneuvering, and FBI finagling in this timely tale of terrorism, Ramsay comes up aces with his sixth outing (after Choker)."      -- Library Journal 

" With folksy charm and dollops of humor, Ramsay crafts a tale of international intrigue in which the past and present make poor bedfellows. Fans of Ruth and Ike's blossoming romance will find plenty to cheer about."    -- Publisher's Weekly

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile