Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

Stir

Stir Cover

Stir

My Broken Brain and the Meals That Brought Me Home

By Jessica Fechtor

Avery Publishing Group, Hardcover, 9781594631320, 288pp.

Publication Date: June 23, 2015

Advertisement
Description
A national bestseller and winner of a Living Now Book Award, Stir is an exquisite memoir about how food connects us to ourselves, our lives, and each other.
At 28, Jessica Fechtor was happily immersed in graduate school and her young marriage, and thinking about starting a family. Then one day, she went for a run and an aneurysm burst in her brain. She nearly died. She lost her sense of smell, the sight in her left eye, and was forced to the sidelines of the life she loved.
Jessica's journey to recovery began in the kitchen as soon as she was able to stand at the stovetop and stir. There, she drew strength from the restorative power of cooking and baking. Written with intelligence, humor, and warmth, Stir is a heartfelt examination of what it means to nourish and be nourished.
Woven throughout the narrative are 27 recipes for dishes that comfort and delight. For readers of M.F.K.Fisher, Molly Wizenberg, and Tamar Adler, as well as Oliver Sacks, Jill Bolte Taylor, and Susannah Cahalan, Stir is sure to inspire, and send you straight to the kitchen.


About the Author
Jessica Fechtor's debut memoir, Stir: My Broken Brain and the Meals that Brought Me Home, chronicles her recovery from a ruptured aneurysm at age 28, and how she reclaimed her life through food and cooking. A national bestseller and winner of the 2015 Living Now Book Award, Stir has been praised by Oprah.com as "a page-turning pleasure," and by The Wall Street Journal as "a recipe for living a life of meaning." Fechtor lives in San Francisco with her husband and daughters. She doesn't believe in secret recipes.
Advertisement