The Sound of Things Falling

By Juan Gabriel Vasquez; Anne McLean (Translator)
Riverhead Books, Paperback, 9781594632747, 302pp.

Publication Date: June 3, 2014

List Price: $16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

* National Bestseller and winner of the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award
*Hailed by Edmund White as "a brilliant new novel" on the cover of the"New York Times Book Review"
* Lauded by Jonathan Franzen, E. L. Doctorow and many others
From a global literary star comes a prize-winning tour de force an intimate portrayal of the drug wars in Colombia.
Juan Gabriel Vasquez has been hailed not only as one of South America's greatest literary stars, but also as one of the most acclaimed writers of his generation. In this gorgeously wrought, award-winning novel, Vasquez confronts the history of his home country, Colombia.

In the city of Bogota, Antonio Yammara reads an article about a hippo that had escaped from a derelict zoo once owned by legendary Colombian drug kingpin Pablo Escobar. The article transports Antonio back to when the war between Escobar's Medellin cartel and government forces played out violently in Colombia's streets and in the skies above. Back then, Antonio witnessed a friend's murder, an event that haunts him still. As he investigates, he discovers the many ways in which his own life and his friend's family have been shaped by his country's recent violent past. His journey leads him all the way back to the 1960s and a world on the brink of change: a time before narco-trafficking trapped a whole generation in a living nightmare.

Vasquez is one of the most original new voices of Latin American literature, according to Nobel Prize winner Mario Vargas Llosa, and "The Sound of Things Falling "is his most personal, most contemporary novel to date, a masterpiece that takes his writing and his literary star even higher.

About the Author
Juan Gabriel Vasquezwas born in Bogota in 1973. His books include the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin award winner and national bestseller, The Sound of Things Falling, as well as the award-winningThe InformersandThe Secret History of Costaguana.Vasquez's books have been published in seventeen languages world-wide, and he is the recipient of the Prix Roger Caillois in France and the Alfaguara Prize in Spain. After sixteen years in France, Belgium, and Spain, he now lives inBogota.Enrique Vila-Matas was born in Barcelona in 1948. His novels have been translated into eleven languages and honored by many prestigious literary awards including the Prix Medicis Etranger. Author of "Bartleby & Co.", "Montano's Malady", and "Never Any End to Paris", he has received Europe's most prestigious awards and been translated into twenty-seven languages.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound