Brother, Brother

By Clay Carmichael
(Roaring Brook Press, Hardcover, 9781596437432, 320pp.)

Publication Date: July 30, 2013

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

The day his grandmother dies, seventeen-year-old Billy “Brother” Grace discovers that he has a twin who has recently made headlines by nearly overdosing on drugs. His twin also happens to be the son of a powerful senator. His newly discovered family may not be all that interested in a cheery reunion, but Brother is determined to get answers. When he arrives on the secluded island off the coast of North Carolina where the senator and his family live, sparks will fly, old resentments will be released, and secrets revealed. Part coming-of-age story, part love story, Clay Carmichael's Brother, Brother is a book about finding out that who you are and where you come from aren't necessarily the same thing.




About the Author

Clay Carmichael grew up in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. She is the author-illustrator of the award-winning novel Wild Things and the picture books Bear at the Beach, Used-Up Bear and Lonesome Bear, which have been translated into many languages. She lives with her husband, sculptor Mike Roig, and an ever-growing number of spoiled feral cats in Carrboro, North Carolina.




Praise For Brother, Brother

"This uplifting underdog story, featuring actual dogs, will draw thoughtful readers with its well-wrought characters and themes of family secrets, romance, and virtue." -- School Library Journal

"Fans of Sarah Dessen and Rachel Vail will enjoy this family story with its touch of mystery, well-developed sense of place, and appealing characters." -- BCCB

"Carmichael explores the journey to self-discovery, nature versus nurture, defining family values, and recognizing your own strength and character through the appealing Brother and his marvelous entourage." - VOYA

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile