The Girl in the Arena

The Girl in the Arena Cover

The Girl in the Arena

By Lise Haines

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC, Hardcover, 9781599903729, 324pp.

Publication Date: October 13, 2009

Description

It's a fight to the death on live TV when a gladiator's daughter steps into the arena

Lyn is a neo-gladiator's daughter, through and through. Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family. "Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator. Remind him constantly of his victories. "And most importantly: "Never leave the stadium when your father is dying." The rules help the family survive, but rules and the GSA can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn's seventh father, he also captures Lyn's dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him... For fans of "The Hunger Games" and "Fight Club," Lise Haines' debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence a modern world that's disturbingly easy to imagine.



About the Author
Lise Haines has published a book of poetry, "Thin Scars/Purple Leaves," and her work has appeared in many journals. She grew up in Chicago, earned her MFA at Bennington, and lived for a time in Santa Barbara.