Candle Man, Book One

The Society of Unrelenting Vigilance

By Glenn Dakin
(EgmontUSA, Hardcover, 9781606840153, 320pp.)

Publication Date: September 22, 2009

Other Editions of This Title: Library Binding, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.



Murder, mystery, and adventure aren’t your typical birthday presents . . .
But for Theo, anything that breaks up his ordinary routine is the perfect gift.
A mysterious “illness” and Theo’s guardians force him into a life indoors, where gloves must be worn and daily medical treatments are the norm. When Theo discovers a suspicious package on his birthday, one person from the past will unlock the secret behind Theo’s “illness” and change his life forever.
Molded into an exhilarating steampunk adventure that gives birth to the next great fantasy hero, Theo Wickland, Candle Man: The Society of Unrelenting Vigilance is the first book in a trilogy by debut author Glenn Dakin.

Ages 8—12

About the Author

Glenn Dakin has written for many comics and children’s TV shows, including the BBC’s Shaun the Sheep, for which he won an International Emmy Award; Temptation; and the semi-autobiographical strip Abe. He lives in Cambridge, England.

Indie Bookstore Finder

Update Profile