A Good American

By Alex George; Gibson Frazier (Read by)
(Penguin Audio, Compact Disc, 9781611760385)

Publication Date: February 7, 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover, Paperback, Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the February 2012 Indie Next List
“In these crazy, sad times, when fear and greed seem to be defining our responses, it was wonderful to be reminded of the irreplaceable role immigration has played in making our country great and of the various ways of being 'a good American.' Frederick and Jette flee Prussia in 1904 and make their new home in Missouri. Their story is told by their grandson, James, and like the best family stories, is filled with the coincidences, missed connections, and both the tragedy and magic of ordinary life. George breaks your heart with the quiet sacrifices and secrets of his characters but never forgets the wonder and humor of living. Carrying the reader across the generations with music and food, religion and prohibition, racism and patriotism, A Good American makes this unique family's story seem familiar in the best of ways.”
-- Leslie Reiner, Inkwood Books, Tampa, FL


Description

Unabridged, 10 CDs, 12 1/2 hours

Read by TBA

For fans of Water for Elephants and Major Pettigrew's Last Stand--an uplifting novel about the families we create and the places we call home.

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile