Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

By Any Name

By Any Name Cover

By Any Name

By Cynthia Voigt

Diversion Publishing, Paperback, 9781682303092, 296pp.

Publication Date: April 4, 2017

Advertisement
Description
From the award-winning author of Homecoming and Dicey's Song comes a heartfelt adult novel perfect for readers of Judy Blume.
Rida is an orphan out of California who dances for the troops in the USO. Spencer is a naval officer with roots deep in New England's upper crust. They meet during World War II at an Officer's Club dance, and Spencer might have been dissuaded if he saw just one engagement ring on her finger, but instead, he sees four.
The courtship is easy, Rida wins him and wears his ring alone. But Rida is a wild card, and Spencer's family can't accept her unconventional approach to marriage, motherhood, and life.
Even Rida's four daughters struggle to understand her, but for them it becomes a quest--to untangle the mystery of their stubborn, off-beat, clear-sighted, loving, and above all mesmerizing mother.
Award-winning author Cynthia Voigt has penned a novel for readers who grew up loving her Newbery Award-winning novels for children and young adults. By Any Name features an indelible woman who sees lines as meant to be crossed, changing the lives of all who come into contact with her indefatigable spirit.
Advertisement