The Not Quite Perfect Boyfriend

The Not Quite Perfect Boyfriend Cover

The Not Quite Perfect Boyfriend

By Lili Wilkinson

Allen & Unwin Australia, Paperback, 9781742377650, 179pp.

Publication Date: January 1, 2012

Description
What happens when your imaginary boyfriend turns out to be real?""I did meet a Boy," Midge snaps. "He has wavy brown hair, and he's English. I met him at the Library. We had romantic picnics by the river and we kissed. A lot.'""

Midge has never had a boyfriend so she makes one up. Then she is paired fora major project with George, the new boy, who doodles dragons, tucks in his shirt, has a mysterious past, and an unseemly interest in secrets. Soon Midge's white lie turns into a web of deceit as she fabricates emails from her imaginary boyfriend, and even a MySpace page. Then one day, Midge comes face-to-face with her imaginary boyfriend in the school corridor. Tall, brown wavy hair, English accent he's exactly as she'd described him, right down to his name. Ben catches on quickly and rescues her from certain humiliation, by kissing her in front of all her friends. He seems to be adream come true the perfect boyfriend But he turns out to be not quite perfect after all, and before long Midge finds herself in all sorts of trouble.



About the Author
Lili Wilkinson works at a center for youthliterature andis the author of Pink.""


Praise For The Not Quite Perfect Boyfriend

"Refreshing."  Booklist on Pink

"Fans of Louise Rennison's Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series or Carolyn Mackler's The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things will find a lot to like in this frothy offering." —School Library Journal