The Not Quite Perfect Boyfriend

By Lili Wilkinson
(Allen & Unwin, Paperback, 9781742377650, 192pp.)

Publication Date: January 2012

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

What happens when your imaginary boyfriend turns out to be real?

"I did meet a Boy," Midge snaps. "He has wavy brown hair, and he's English. I met him at the Library. We had romantic picnics by the river and we kissed. A lot.'"

Midge has never had a boyfriend—so she makes one up. Then she is paired for a major project with George, the new boy, who doodles dragons, tucks in his shirt, has a mysterious past, and an unseemly interest in secrets. Soon Midge's white lie turns into a web of deceit as she fabricates emails from her imaginary boyfriend, and even a MySpace page. Then one day, Midge comes face-to-face with her imaginary boyfriend in the school corridor. Tall, brown wavy hair, English accent—he's exactly as she'd described him, right down to his name. Ben catches on quickly and rescues her from certain humiliation, by kissing her in front of all her friends. He seems to be a dream come true—the perfect boyfriend! But he turns out to be not quite perfect after all, and before long Midge finds herself in all sorts of trouble.




About the Author

Lili Wilkinson works at a center for youth literature and is the author of Pink




Praise For The Not Quite Perfect Boyfriend

"Refreshing."  —Booklist on Pink

"Fans of Louise Rennison's Confessions of Georgia Nicolson series or Carolyn Mackler's The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things will find a lot to like in this frothy offering." —School Library Journal

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile