Ridges of England, Wales and Ireland

Scrambles, Rock Climbs and Winter Routes

By Dan Bailey
(Cicerone Press, Paperback, 9781852845391, 256pp.)

Publication Date: June 2009

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.


The Central Fells by Mark Richards covers 28 summits in the Central Fells of the English Lake District, including a variety of ascents, old and new, in the high ground between Great Langdale and Keswick. The area is flanked to the west by Stake Pass, Langstrath, Borrowdale and Derwentwater and to the east by Grasmere, Dunmail Raise and Thirlmere. Author Mark Richards combines his passion for the Lake District and artistic flair with all the information the experienced walker needs to explore and enjoy the Mid-Western Fells. For each of the hills covered, this guide offers a dedicated chapter, with full descriptions of a range of new and old routes, full-color Harvey maps and clear elevation diagrams, detailed summit panoramas and lots of inspiring photographs. It is one of the first two to be published in Cicerone's 8-volume Lakeland Fellranger series, which provides a comprehensive new guide to the fells of the English Lake District, with a selection of new routes up more than 230 hills.
Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist

Update Profile