Revolver (Paperback)

By Marcus Sedgwick

Square Fish, 9780312547974, 240pp.

Publication Date: September 27, 2011

Other Editions of This Title:
Prebound (9/27/2011)
Hardcover (4/13/2010)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (4/13/2010)
MP3 CD (10/4/2016)
Compact Disc (4/13/2010)
Compact Disc (4/13/2010)
MP3 CD (4/13/2010)
MP3 CD (4/13/2010)

List Price: 10.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A loaded gun. Stolen Gold. And a menacing stranger. A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush. A Printz Honor Book.

A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.” —The Horn Book, starred review

In an isolated cabin, fourteen-year-old Sig is alone with a corpse: his father, who has fallen through the ice and frozen to death only hours earlier. Then comes a stranger claiming that Sig's father owes him a share of a horde of stolen gold. Sig's only protection is a loaded Colt revolver hidden in the cabin's storeroom. The question is, will Sig use the gun, and why?

Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick was a 2011 Bank Street - Best Children's Book of the Year. This title has Common Core connections.

Praise for Revolver

“A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.” —The Horn Book, starred review

“Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.” —Booklist

“An elegant, brilliantly executed tale. . . . This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length.” —The Times (London)

“A gripping thriller.” —The Guardian

Novels by Marcus Sedgwick:
Saint Death:
A propulsive, compelling, and unsparing novel set in the grimly violent world of the human and drug trade on the US-Mexican border.
Blood Red Snow White: A gripping, romantic adventure novel based on the true story of Arthur Ransome's experiences with love and betrayal in war-torn Russia.
The Ghosts of Heaven: A Printz Honor Book! Timeless, beautiful, and haunting, spirals connect four episodes, from prehistory through the far future.
She Is Not Invisible: When her father goes missing, a blind girl talented in identifying patterns and her brother are thrust into a mystery.
Midwinterblood: A Printz Medal Winner! Seven stories of passion and love separated by centuries but mysteriously intertwined.
White Crow: A scary, thought provoking novel about secrets that are better left buried.
Revolver: A Printz Honor Book! A taut frontier survivor story, set at the time of the Alaska gold rush.

Graphic novel by Marcus Sedgwick, art by Thomas Taylor:
Scarlett Hart: Monster Hunter:
A rip-roaring romp full of hairy horrors, villainous villains, and introducing the world’s toughest monster hunter—Scarlett Hart!



About the Author

Marcus Sedgwick was born and raised in Kent in South East England, but now lives in the French Alps. His books have won and been shortlisted for many awards; most notably, he has been shortlisted for Britain’s Carnegie Medal six times, has received two Printz Honors, for Revolver and Ghosts of Heaven, and in 2013 won the Printz Award for Midwinterblood.


Praise For Revolver

“A memorable tale, one that will appeal to fans of Gary Paulsen, Jack London, and even Cormac McCarthy.” —The Horn Book, Starred Review

“Sedgwick lures his readers into deeper thinking while they savor this thrillingly told tale.” —Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“A chilling, atmospheric story that will haunt readers with its descriptions of a desolate terrain and Sig's difficult decisions.” —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

“The bleak setting and ominous circumstances will draw immediate comparisons to a Jack London tale, but in a more accessible, spare style. Reluctant readers will be riveted by the suspense and the short chapters.” —School Library Journal, Starred Review

“A carefully crafted story effectively rigidified by taut plotting and the crystalline atmospherics of its isolated setting.” —Booklist

“An elegant, brilliantly executed tale. . . . This novel of only 167 pages is packed with more excitement and wisdom than many twice its length.” —The Times (London)

“A gripping thriller.” —The Guardian