The German Midwife (Paperback)

By Mandy Robotham

Avon Books, 9780008340520, 352pp.

Publication Date: June 18, 2019

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

'A powerful, haunting debut'--Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Kate Furnivall comes a gritty tale of courage, betrayal and survival in the hardest of circumstances.

Germany, 1944. A prisoner in the camps, midwife Anke Hoff is doing what she can to keep her pregnant campmates and their newborns alive.

But when Anke's work is noticed, she is chosen for a task far more dangerous than she could ever have imagined. High in the Bavarian hills, Eva Braun is pregnant, and Anke is assigned as her caregiver.

Before long, Anke is faced with an impossible choice. Does she serve the Reich she loathes and keep the baby alive? Or does she sacrifice an innocent child for the good of a broken world?



About the Author

Mandy Robotham has been an aspiring author since the age of nine, but was waylaid by journalism and later enticed by birth. She's now a practising midwife who writes about birth, death, love and everything else in between. She graduated with an MA in Creative Writing from Oxford Brookes University. This is her first novel.