Geography Club (Paperback)

By Brent Hartinger

HarperTempest, 9780060012236, 226pp.

Publication Date: February 17, 2004

Advertisement

Description

A modern classic about a group of teens discovering sexuality and identity, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, and David Levithan.

Brent Hartinger's debut novel is a fast-paced, funny, and trenchant portrait of contemporary teenagers who may not learn any actual geography, but who learn plenty about the treacherous social terrain of high school and the even more dangerous landscape of the human heart.

Russel Middlebrook is convinced he's the only gay kid at Goodkind High School. Then his online gay chat buddy turns out to be none other than Kevin, the popular but closeted star of the school's baseball team.

Soon Russel meets other gay students, too. There's his best friend Min, who reveals that she is bisexual, and her soccer-playing girlfriend Terese. Then there's Terese's politically active friend, Ike.

But how can a group like this get together at school without drawing attention to themselves? "We just choose a club that's so boring, nobody in their right mind would ever in a million years join it. We could call it Geography Club "



Praise For Geography Club

“Provocative, insightful.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Lively and compelling... there’s heart-palpitating romance... and there’s plenty of humor in the witty writing.”
-Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Hartinger’s novel is geared toward young adults but should also speak volumes to youth allies.”
-Out Magazine

“Pitch-perfect. Artful and authentic.”
-Horn Book Magazine

Advertisement