Bread Alone (Paperback)

A Novel

By Judith R. Hendricks

William Morrow Paperbacks, 9780060084400, 368pp.

Publication Date: May 28, 2002

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (6/19/2001)

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Woman on Top comes a deliciously magical and mouth watering story, filled with wonder, discovery, and new beginnings.

Thirty-one-year-old Wynter Morrison long ago gave up on finding a suitable career and drifted into the role of trophy wife to an ambitious advertising executive. After her husband decides that their marriage was a mistake Wyn leaves behind her posh, pampered life and ventures north to Seattle, spending aimless hours sipping coffee at a local bakery. As the sweet aromas of freshly-baked bread awaken memories of her apprenticeship at a French boulangerie, she feels the desire and ambition to bake bread once again.

Soon, Wyn finds--in the kneading of the dough and the scent of yeast hanging in the air--an unexpected and wondrous healing power that helps her to rediscover that nothing stays the same. Inspiring and beautifully rendered, Bread Alone is an uplifting debut novel guaranteed to warm the heart.



About the Author

A former journalist, copywriter, computer instructor, travel agent, waitress, and baker, Judith Ryan Hendricks is the author of three previous novels, including the bestseller Bread Alone. She and her husband live in New Mexico.



Praise For Bread Alone: A Novel

“A charmingly romantic first novel…fun to read and meaningful to remember-no small feat.”
Booklist

“Engaging…Hendricks creates a compelling character whose wry, bemused and ultimately wise voice hooks the reader…a well written, imaginative debut.”
Publishers Weekly