Sarah, Plain and Tall (Hardcover)

By Patricia MacLachlan

HarperCollins, 9780060241018, 64pp.

Publication Date: May 15, 1985

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (11/17/2008)
Digital Audiobook (11/22/2004)
Paperback (3/3/2015)
Prebound (7/24/2015)
Library Binding (4/25/1985)
Prebound (3/3/2015)
Prebound (9/4/1987)
Paperback, Chinese (5/1/2010)
Hardcover (1/1/1999)
Paperback, Large Print, Large Print (12/1/2005)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (10/1/2007)
Prebound (9/1/1987)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.



About the Author

Patricia MacLachlan is the celebrated author of many timeless novels for young readers, including Newbery Medal winner Sarah, Plain and Tall; Word After Word After Word; Kindred Souls; The Truth of Me; The Poet’s Dog; and My Father’s Words. She is also the author of countless beloved picture books, a number of which she cowrote with her daughter, Emily. She lives in Williamsburg, Massachusetts.