The Standing Wave (Paperback)


By Gabriel Spera

Harper Perennial, 9780060541828, 96pp.

Publication Date: July 8, 2003

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


An exciting first collection of poetry from an emerging talent, Gabriel Spera's The Standing Wave was a winner of the 2002 National Poetry Series Open Competition, selected by esteemed poet Dave Smith.

For over twenty years, the National Poetry Series has discovered many new and emerging voices and has been instrumental in launching the careers of poets and writers such as Billy Collins, Mark Doty, Denis Johnson, Cole Swensen, Thylias Moss, Mark Levine, and Dionisio Martinez.

About the Author

Gabriel Spera's first collection of poems, The Standing Wave, was a winner of the 2002 National Poetry Series. The book also received the PEN West Literary Book Award for Poetry in 2004. Spera's poems have appeared in journals such as Chicago Review, Crazyhorse, Doubletake, Epoch, Folio, Greensboro Review, Laurel Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, Missouri Review, New England Review, Ontario Review, Poetry, Prairie Schooner, and Southern Review. His work was also featured in The Best American Poetry 2000. He grew up in New Jersey, and lives in Los Angeles.