Skip to main content


On Meadowview Street

Henry Cole, Henry Cole (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Library Binding (4/24/2007)

Description

The perfect book for everyone who loves nature! On Meadowview Street celebrates the environment, ecosystems—and individual empowerment. 

Caroline moves to a new suburban house. The yard, like all the surrounding yards, is plain, boring grass. But then she discovers a wildflower. Soon she’s got her own little wildflower preserve, carefully protected from Dad’s lawn mower. She adds a tree . . . a pond . . . birdhouses . . .she’s brought a meadow to Meadowview Street! 

Time brings more little meadows, as the neighbors see how beautiful and alive a yard can be. An ideal choice for classroom reading and sharing and for inspiring the creation of green corridors—safe havens for migrating birds and butterflies—at home. For fans of Peter Brown's The Curious Garden, Joanna Gaines's We Are the Gardeners, and Christie Matheson's Tap the Magic Tree.

“This lovely picture book offers children a quiet approach to embracing the natural world.”—School Library Journal, starred review 

“Gentle persuasion for the naturalist in everyone.”—Kirkus Reviews

Greenwillow Books, 9780060564810, 32pp.

Publication Date: April 24, 2007



About the Author

Henry Cole was a celebrated science teacher for many years before turning his talents to children’s books. He has worked on nearly one hundred and fifty books for children, including Unspoken, Big Bug, A Nest for Celeste, Jack’s Garden, and On Meadowview Street. Henry loves being outside, where he can sketch and write. His favorite sound is the first robin song of the spring. You can visit him online at www.henrycole.net.



Henry Cole was a celebrated science teacher for many years before turning his talents to children’s books. He has worked on nearly one hundred and fifty books for children, including Unspoken, Big Bug, A Nest for Celeste, Jack’s Garden, and On Meadowview Street. Henry loves being outside, where he can sketch and write. His favorite sound is the first robin song of the spring. You can visit him online at www.henrycole.net.