Skip to main content


Weetzie Bat

Francesca Lia Block

Paperback

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (3/14/2013)
Hardcover (4/24/1989)
Prebound (7/6/2004)

Description

“Transcendent.” New York Times Book Review

“Magnificent.” Village Voice

“Sparkling.” Publishers Weekly

Francesca Lia Block’s dazzling debut novel, Weetzie Bat, is not only a genre-shattering, critically acclaimed gem, it's also widely recognized as a classic of young adult literature, having captivated readers for generations.

This coming-of-age novel follows the eponymous Weetzie Bat and her best friend Dirk as they navigate life and love in a timeless, dreamlike version of Los Angeles. When Weetzie is granted three wishes by a genie, she discovers that there are unexpected ramifications….

Winner of the prestigious Phoenix Award, Weetzie Bat is a beautiful, poetic work of magical realism that is perfect for fans of Laura Ruby, Neil Gaiman, and Kelly Link.



Praise For Weetzie Bat

“Transcendent.”
— The New York Times Book Review

“Magnificent.”
— The Village Voice

“Sparkling.”
Publishers Weekly

“Shimmering.”
— The New York Post

“One of the most original books of the last ten years.”
— The Los Angeles Times Book Review

HarperTeen, 9780060736255, 128pp.

Publication Date: July 6, 2004



About the Author

Francesca Lia Block, winner of the prestigious Margaret A. Edwards Award, is the author of many acclaimed and bestselling books, including Weetzie Bat; the book collections Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books and Roses and Bones: Myths, Tales, and Secrets; the illustrated novella House of Dolls; the vampire romance novel Pretty Dead; and the gothic werewolf novel The Frenzy. Her work is published around the world.