The Bridge of San Luis Rey (Paperback)

By Thornton Wilder

Harper Perennial Modern Classics, 9780060757502, 176pp.

Publication Date: September 2, 2014

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (1/12/2004)
Paperback (4/15/2003)
Hardcover (1/6/2004)
Paperback (9/29/2015)
Hardcover (12/1/1991)
Paperback (7/1/2001)
Prebound (4/15/2003)

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


A beautiful edition of Thornton Wilder’s classic novel featuring previously unpublished notes and other illuminating documentary material, along with a foreword by acclaimed author Russell Banks.

On Friday noon, July the twentieth, 1714, the finest bridge in all Peru broke and precipitated five travelers into the gulf below. With this celebrated sentence, one of the towering achievements in American fiction, and a novel read throughout the world, begins.

By fate or chance, a monk has witnessed the collapse. Brother Juniper, moved by the tragedy, embarks on a quest to prove a higher order is at work in the deaths of those who perished. His search leads readers on a timeless investigation into the nature of love and the meaning of the human condition.

About the Author

Thornton Wilder (1897-1975) was an accomplished novelist and playwright whose works, exploring the connection between the commonplace and cosmic dimensions of human experience, continue to be read and produced around the world. His Bridge of San Luis Rey, one of seven novels, won the Pulitzer Prize in 1928, as did two of his four full-length dramas, Our Town (1938) and The Skin of Our Teeth (1943). Wilder's The Matchmaker was adapted as the musical Hello, Dolly!. He also enjoyed enormous success with many other forms of the written and spoken word, among them teaching, acting, the opera, and films. (His screenplay for Hitchcock's Shadow of Doubt [1943] remains a classic psycho-thriller to this day.) Wilder's many honors include the Gold Medal for Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the Presidential Medal of Freedom, and the National Book Committee's Medal for Literature.