The Other Side of Desire (Hardcover)

Four Journeys into the Far Realms of Lust and Longing

By Daniel Bergner

Ecco, 9780060885564, 224pp.

Publication Date: February 1, 2009

List Price: 24.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

February 2009 Indie Next List

“I very nearly couldn't put down Bergner's profile of four stories of desire, whether the account enthralled or repulsed me. His writing is captivating and fluid, telling of his discovery of concepts of desire that are new and unorthodox to him.”
— Brent Humphreys, Davis-Kidd Booksellers, Nashville, TN
View the List

Description

"Riveting....Powerful...as much about desire and what's normal as it is an exploration of why we are the way we are, whether we like it or not." --New York Times Book Review Subtitled "Four Journeys into the Far Realms of Lust and Longing," Daniel Bergner's The Other Side of Desire is a literary exploration of science and sex that will appeal to readers of Mary Roach and Natalie Angier. A cross between "a top-rated HBO series with] provocatively graphic sex, humorous dialogue, and moral ambiguity," (New York Times) and a profound, deeply humanizing study of sexuality, The Other Side of Desire has been called, "a foray into extreme passion, in quest of the human soul" (O, The Oprah Magazine) and its author, Bergner, "a keen storyteller but above all a humane one" (Salon.com).


Praise For The Other Side of Desire: Four Journeys into the Far Realms of Lust and Longing

“Attentive, carefully controlled…[Bergner’s] goal is empathy. He gives depth and shadow to his subjects’ longing, never mocking, oversimplifying or vilifying.”
-Washington Post Book World

“In this fascinating book, Bergner, with a novelist’s eye but a reporter’s grit, examines amputee devotees and S&M fanatics without resorting to sensationalism.”
-Metro New York

“Bergner does what science cannot: He illuminates peculiar longings. His method is at first descriptive and finally poetic. . . . Given the limitations of science, resonant journalism may be the best way to approach paraphilia, and Bergner’s book has a musical quality.”
-Slate

“Unsettling but riveting....what makes [this book] so powerful is that it’s as much about desire and what’s normal as it is an exploration of why we are the way we are, whether we like it or not.”
-New York Times Book Review

“In carefully etched prose, Bergner unpacks the tightly twisted roots of desire, power seeking, self-hatred and theatricality that motivate his four pseudonymous subjects…Compassionate wisdom about dark needs.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Girded with scientific data about the nature of sexual identity, The Other Side of Desire is a foray into extreme passion, in quest of the human soul.”
-O, The Oprah Magazine

“Daniel Bergner’s characters live in erotic no-go zones where most of us would fear to tread. Their stories will sadden, enlighten, disturb, and move you—for they are completely, intimately human.”
-George Packer, New York Times bestselling author of THE ASSASSIN'S GATE

“Searching, deeply humane. . . . Our reactions to the stories Daniel Bergner recounts reveal as much about ourselves as they do about his oddly winning subjects.”
-Jennifer Egan, bestselling author of THE KEEP