Football Hero (Football Genius #2) (Paperback)

By Tim Green

HarperCollins, 9780061122767, 320pp.

Publication Date: March 24, 2009

List Price: 7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Success comes with risk and a high price in this thrilling standalone football novel from New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.

Ever since Ty Lewis was orphaned and forced to stay with his legal guardian, Uncle Gus, he’s always wanted to prove how fast he is on a football field and be like his older brother, Thane "Tiger" Lewis, who's about to graduate from college—and is being courted by the NFL.

But instead of playing football, he’s scrubbing bathrooms after school for his uncle’s cleaning service. Thane is the only bright spot in Ty’s life. And now Uncle Gus wants to use Ty to get to him and obtain valuable insider information for a local mob boss called “Lucy” and his gambling ring.

Can Ty break free to save not only Thane’s football career, but his life?



About the Author

Tim Green, for many years a star defensive end with the Atlanta Falcons, is a man of many talents. He's the author of such gripping books for adults as the New York Times bestselling The Dark Side of the Game and American Outrage. Tim graduated covaledictorian from Syracuse University and was a first-round draft pick. He later earned his law degree with honors, and he has also worked as an NFL commentator for FOX Sports and NPR.

His first book for young readers, Football Genius, inspired in part by his players and his own kids, became a New York Times bestseller and was followed by Football Hero, Football Champ, The Big Time, and Deep Zone. He drew on his experiences playing and coaching Little League for Rivals and Pinch Hit and two more New York Times bestsellers: Baseball Great and Best of the Best.

Bestselling author Jon Scieszka called Tim Green's Unstoppable, a book about a boy's struggle with cancer that debuted at #2 on the New York Times bestseller list, "Absolutely heroic. And something every guy should read."

Tim Green lives with his wife, Illyssa, and their five children in upstate New York.



Praise For Football Hero (Football Genius #2)

“Even better than Football Genius...lots of fast-moving action and suspense...sure to be a hit.”
— KLIATT starred review

“Instantly gripping...[keeps] the tension level high and the pages flipping furiously...sure to have a great many fans.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“[T]he moral choices faced by the hero are heart-wrenchingly realistic, while the detailed description of the world surrounding the life of a professional football player will appeal to the many fans of the sport.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“[B]riskly paced, ... a good bet for sports-minded reluctant readers.”
— School Library Journal