Skip to main content


Not a Box

Antoinette Portis, Antoinette Portis (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover, Spanish (11/15/2017)
Library Binding (12/12/2006)
Hardcover, Chinese (10/1/2018)
Hardcover, Chinese (12/6/2007)
Hardcover, Korean (9/10/2007)
Hardcover, Japanese (10/31/2007)

Description

Don't miss this wholly original celebration of the power of imagination, winner of a Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award. This picture book with its visual humor and simple dialogue is great for fans of Mo Willems and Crockett Johnson—and it's a thoughtful graduation gift for creative people of all ages.

A box is just a box...unless it's not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit shows that a box will go as far as the imagination allows.

Inspired by a memory of sitting in a box on her driveway with her sister, Antoinette Portis captures the thrill when pretend feels so real that it actually becomes real—when the imagination takes over inside a cardboard box, and through play, a child is transported to a world where anything is possible.

After reading this book aloud, continue the fun by drawing shapes like a triangle or circle, and asking your child what the triangle is NOT! 

HarperCollins, 9780061123221, 32pp.

Publication Date: December 12, 2006



About the Author

Antoinette Portis is the author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Not a Box (a New York Times Best Illustrated Book and a 2007 Theodore Seuss Geisel Honor Book), Not a Stick, A Penguin Story (also chosen as a New York Times Best Illustrated Book), and Kindergarten Diary. She attended the UCLA School of Fine Arts and is a former creative director at Disney. Antoinette lives in Southern California.



Antoinette Portis is the author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling Not a Box (a New York Times Best Illustrated Book and a 2007 Theodore Seuss Geisel Honor Book), Not a Stick, A Penguin Story (also chosen as a New York Times Best Illustrated Book), and Kindergarten Diary. She attended the UCLA School of Fine Arts and is a former creative director at Disney. Antoinette lives in Southern California.