Skip to main content
Cover for The New Kid on the Block CD

The New Kid on the Block CD

Jack Prelutsky, Jack Prelutsky (Read by)

CD-Audio

List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (4/9/2007)
Paperback (2/26/2013)
Hardcover (8/20/1984)
Library Binding (8/20/1984)

Description

From beloved and bestselling poet Jack Prelutsky come over 100 hilarious poems about strange creatures and people—from jellyfish stew to a bouncing mouse, to the very unexpected new kid! For fans of Shel Silverstein and Louis Sachar's Wayside School series. “The illustrations bring the frivolity to a fever pitch.”—School Library Journal.

Open this book to any page to begin your exploration. Here are poems about things that you may never have thought about before. You'll be introduced to jellyfish stew, a bouncing mouse, a ridiculous dog, and a boneless chicken. You'll learn why you shouldn't argue with a shark, eat a dinosaur, or have an alligator for a pet. You'll meet the world's worst singer and the greatest video game player in history. You'll even find an invitation to a dragon's birthday party....Your friends are invited too.

“It’s the author’s joyous sense of the absurd that propels the reader from page to page.”—Horn Book (starred review)

 

Greenwillow Books, 9780061359439

Publication Date: March 27, 2007



About the Author

Jack Prelutsky is the best-selling author of more than fifty books of poetry, including The New Kid on the Block, illustrated by James Stevenson, and Stardines Swim High Across the Sky, illustrated by Carin Berger. Jack Prelutsky lives in Washington State.



Jack Prelutsky is the best-selling author of more than fifty books of poetry, including The New Kid on the Block, illustrated by James Stevenson, and Stardines Swim High Across the Sky, illustrated by Carin Berger. Jack Prelutsky lives in Washington State.