She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth (Paperback)

The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

By Helen Castor

Harper Perennial, 9780061430770, 480pp.

Publication Date: January 31, 2012

Advertisement

Description

"Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding." --Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds--and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other "she-wolves," as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much--and how little--has changed through the centuries.



Praise For She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

“Helen Castor’s very readable She-Wolves is . . . full of beautiful, imperiled ladies; fearless knights; and remarkable, often unbelievable turns of fortune. . . . Castor is a fine scholar and an equally fine storyteller.”
-Cleveland Plain Dealer

“[Helen Castor is] an accomplished and elegant historian.”
-Miranda Seymour, New York Times Book Review

“A gripping book . . . She-Wolves is a superb history of the powerful women who have surrounded England’s throne, combining blood-drenched drama, politics, sex and swordplay with scholarly analysis, symptahy for the plight of women and elegant writing.”
-Simon Sebag Montefiore, Daily Telegraph (London)

“A fascinating biography of four powerful English queens…An insightful look at issues still relevant today, related by an accomplished historian and storyteller.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Castor’s deep research will please European, military, and women’s historians, while [her] tight storytelling makes this unusually fine royal history enjoyable reading for casual readers.”
-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Beautifully narrated . . . learned and exciting. This is medieval history at its best.”
-Evening Standard

“Castor skillfully combines this analysis with driving narratives, using vivd details from contemporary chronicles to bring those distant days alive. She-Wolves makes one gasp at the brutality of medieval power struggles—and at the strength and vitality of the women who sought to wield royal power.”
-Jenny Uglow, Financial Times

“Exceptional, even inspirational reading.”
-BookPage

“Castor has done a masterful job of outlining the burdens these women faced. . . . Readers of popular history of British royals will enjoy their immensely human stories.”
-Library Journal

“A fascinating biography…An insightful look at issues still relevant today, related by an accomplished historian and storyteller.”
-Kirkus Reviews

Advertisement