How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and ACT the Way We Do (Paperback)

Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and ACT the Way We Do

By Sharon Moalem

Harper Perennial, 9780061479663, 288pp.

Publication Date: April 27, 2010

Advertisement

Description

"Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It's almost as much fun, and needs less energy."
-- Peter Macinnis, author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History

"How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag."
--O magazine

Medical maverick and New York Times bestselling author of Survival of the Sickest Dr. Sharon Moalem presents an insightful and engaging voyage through the surprising history and evolution of sexual reproduction. Fans of Freakonomics, Blink, You: The Owner's Manual, and Why Do Men Have Nipples will find many engaging insights in How Sex Works.



Praise For How Sex Works: Why We Look, Smell, Taste, Feel, and ACT the Way We Do

“Sharon Moalem’s new book goes far beyond the typical ‘birds and bees’ sex talk. The neurogeneticist delves deep into human sexuality, and comes to some surprising conclusions.”
-Daily Beast

“Packed with trivia about the evolutionary history, intricate mechanics, and nitty-gritty mysteries of sex, sexual organs, and desire, Sharon Moalem’s How Sex Works manages to inject science writing with the prurient thrill of a gossip rag.”
-O magazine

“Moalem makes evolution sexy and sex astonishing. If you’ve ever been surprised by either your body or your heart, this book will probably tell you why.”
-Kinney Zalesne, coauthor of the New York Times bestseller Microtrends: The Small Forces Behind Tomorrow's Big Changes

“Have you ever wondered HOW SEX WORKS? This book answers all of the questions you’ve ever wanted to know about how your body works sexually, but did not know where to find the answers. They are here!”
-Dr. Beverly Whipple, coauthor of the New York Times bestseller The G Spot: And Other Discoveries About Human Sexuality and The Science of Orgasm.

“An engaging synthesis of scientific research on why we humans experience our sexuality the way we do.”
-Rachel P. Maines, PhD, Cornell University and author of The Technology of Orgasm: "Hysteria," the Vibrator, and Women's Sexual Satisfaction

“Read this book and discover sex again, but from a scientific perspective, and see why it evolved. It’s almost as much fun, and needs less energy.”
-Peter Macinnis, science writer and author of 100 Discoveries: The Greatest Breakthroughs in History and Mr Darwin's Incredible Shrinking World

“HOW SEX WORKS is a must-buy for anyone interested in the ins and outs of why, psychologically and biologically, sex is about much, much more than the mere birds and bees.”
-Nancy Redd, New York Times bestselling author of Body Drama

Advertisement