The Paris Enigma (Paperback)

A Novel

By Pablo De Santis

Harper Perennial, 9780061479687, 256pp.

Publication Date: December 8, 2009

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (11/11/2008)

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the tradition of Caleb Carr’s The Alienist and Eric Larsen’s The Devil in the White City comes The Paris Enigma, a gripping tale of murder and the art of crime solving. Written in a strikingly original voice, and poignantly evoking a world about to lose its innocence forever, The Paris Enigma features two detectives who find themselves in a race against time around glorious fin de siècle Paris, encountering all manner of secret societies and solving philosophical puzzles, while also trying to save a dangerously beautiful woman.


About the Author

A journalist and comic-strip creator who became editorin chief of one of Argentina’s leading comics magazines,Pablo De Santis is the author of six critically acclaimed novels, one work of nonfiction, and a number of books for young adults. His works have been published in more than twenty countries. He lives in Buenos Aires.



Praise For The Paris Enigma: A Novel

“Luminous...a tightly spun thriller...Mr. De Santis effortlessly incorporates important historical events (the building of the tower and the World’s Fair) into his narrative, as well as capturing the turn-of-the-century uneasiness over the emergence of the machine age.”
— Wall Street Journal

“[An] outstanding puzzler. . . . De Santis adroitly explores such issues as the difference between image and reality while providing intelligent and entertaining discussions of alternate approaches to detection.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“[A] beguiling historical whodunit . .. .”
— New York Times Book Review