The Art of Racing in the Rain (Paperback)

A Novel

By Garth Stein

Harper Paperbacks, 9780061537967, 336pp.

Publication Date: May 22, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/12/2008)
Hardcover (5/13/2008)
CD-Audio (6/9/2009)
Paperback, Large Print (5/13/2008)
Prebound (5/22/2018)
Paperback (9/16/2014)
Compact Disc (5/13/2008)
Paperback, Chinese (10/29/2015)
Paperback (6/1/2011)
Mass Market Paperbound (8/15/2020)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Indie Next List Highlights 2008

“Sometimes, if you are very lucky, fate gives you a special friend. Denny's friend Enzo will stand by him through some of the best and worst times of his life, his faith in Denny bone deep. Enzo is a dog, a dog with a very old soul. Denny is a race driver with natural talent, but sometimes life gets in the way of natural talent, and the road can have sharp bends. Suffused with humor, love, pain, and valor, this should be one of the year's best books!”
— Deon Stonehouse, Sunriver Books, Sunriver, OR
View the List

Description

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE FROM FOX 2000 STARRING MILO VENTIMIGLIA, AMANDA SEYFRIED, AND KEVIN COSTNER

MEET THE DOG

WHO WILL SHOW THE WORLD

HOW TO BE HUMAN

The New York Times bestselling novel from Garth Stein—a heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of family, love, loyalty, and hope—a captivating look at the wonders and absurdities of human life . . . as only a dog could tell it.

“Splendid.” —People

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that compassion isn’t only for humans, and that the relationship between two souls who are meant for each other never really comes to an end. Every now and then I’m lucky enough to read a novel I can’t stop thinking about: this is one of them.” —Jodi Picoult

“It’s impossible not to love Enzo.” —Minneapolis Star Tribune

“This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.” —Sara Gruen



About the Author

Garth Stein is the author of Enzo Races in the Rain!, based on the New York Times bestselling novel The Art of Racing in the Rain (and its tween adaptation, Racing in the Rain). His other works include A Sudden Light, How Evan Broke His Head and Other Secrets, Raven Stole the Moon, and a play, Brother Jones. He is the cofounder of Seattle7Writers.org, a nonprofit collective of sixty-two Northwest authors dedicated to fostering a passion for the written word. Garth lives in Seattle with his family and his dog, Comet.



Praise For The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel

“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel’s Life of Pi.”
Portland Oregonian

“Splendid.”
People (3 ½ out of 4 stars)

“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.”
Entertainment Weekly

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end.”
— Jodi Picoult

The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and—most especially—the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.”
— Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human.”
— Sara Gruen, Author of Water for Elephants

“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.”
— Wally Lamb, Author of She's Come Undone and I Know This Much Is True


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

  1. Some early readers of the novel have observed that viewing the world through a dog's eyes makes for a greater appreciation of being human. Why do you think this is?
  2. Enzo's observations throughout the novel provide insight into his world view. For example: "The visible becomes inevitable." "Understanding the truth is simple. Allowing oneself to experience it, is often terrifically difficult." "No race has ever been won in the first corner; many races have been lost there." How does his philosophy apply to real life?
  3. In one of the book's darkest moments, one of Zoe's stuffed animals—the zebra—comes to life and torments him. What does the zebra symbolize?
  4. Can you imagine the novel being told from Denny's point of view? How would it make the story different?
  5. In the first chapter, Enzo says: "It's what's inside that's important. The soul. And my soul is very human." How does Enzo's situation—a human soul trapped in a dog's body—influence his opinions about what he sees around him? How do you feel about the ideas of reincarnation and karma as Enzo defines them?
  6. Do you find yourself looking at your own dog differently after reading this novel?
  7. In the book, we get glimpses into the mindset and mentality of a race car driver. What parallels can you think of between the art of racing and the art of living?
  8. The character of Ayrton Senna, as he is presented in the book, is heroic, almost a mythic figure. Why do you think this character resonates so strongly for Denny?