Destiny, Rewritten (Hardcover)

By Kathryn Fitzmaurice

Katherine Tegen Books, 9780061625015, 352pp.

Publication Date: February 19, 2013

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Spring '13 Kids List

“Being named after a famous 19th - century poet sure puts pressure on a kid, especially when her mother is an English professor. Given that, Emily Elizabeth Davis wonders about destiny and fate. Can any of us really choose our own path, or do we follow a determined plan instead? Big questions are woven into this terrific story filled with likable and memorable characters. There is a frantic search for a missing book that keeps readers guessing and much more to keep them thinking, even after the final pages are turned.”
— Christopher Rose, Andover Bookstore, Andover, MA
View the List

Description

This sweet contemporary story about poetry, family, and determining your own destiny is perfect for fans of books by Wendy Mass, Joan Bauer, Sharon Creech, and Rebecca Stead.

Eleven-year-old Emily Elizabeth Davis has never met her father, so when a book of poetry with his name in it goes missing, Emily and her friends search all over their hometown of Berkeley, California, hoping to track it down. Meanwhile, even though her English-professor mother insists that Emily is destined to become a poet (she named her after Emily Dickinson!), Emily secretly corresponds with her idol, romance writer Danielle Steel.

As Publishers Weekly says, "Fitzmaurice's story deftly mingles Dickinson, Danielle Steel, a budding crush, and protesting tree sitters while maintaining suspense that leads to a satisfying ending."



About the Author

Kathryn Fitzmaurice once received a book that was inscribed with the prediction that she might become a famous poet like Emily Dickinson. She became a writer for young readers instead, and her very first novel, The Year the Swallows Came Early, has received many honors and accolades. She lives in Monarch Beach, California, with her husband, sons, and faithful canine writing companion, Holly.



Praise For Destiny, Rewritten

“Aptly set amid the hippie ambiance of Berkeley, Calif., and peopled by offbeat, but believable characters, Fitzmaurice’s story deftly mingles Dickinson, Danielle Steel, a budding crush, and protesting tree sitters while maintaining suspense that leads to a satisfying ending.”
— Publishers Weekly

“A sweet book that should appeal to fans of Wendy Mass, Joan Bauer, Sharon Creech, and the like.”
— School Library Journal

“There’s a proto-romance with classmate Connor Kelly, attention paid to environmental issues and some interesting poetry, but the focus is squarely on Emily’s growing self-determination. Emotionally, her story rings true. Readers will applaud Emily’s newfound understanding of the workings of destiny and might even follow her lead.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Emily’s exploration of fate is intriguingly presented, and a happy ending comes about through both Emily’s choices and pure luck, leaving readers with the pleasantly paradoxical idea that fate is both beyond and within one’s control...Emily is a strong and likable heroine.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books