Spark (Paperback)

How Creativity Works

By Julie Burstein, Kurt Andersen

Harper Paperbacks, 9780061732393, 272pp.

Publication Date: April 10, 2012

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (5/16/2011)
Hardcover (2/15/2011)

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“This is a book about joy, drive and art, work that we’re all capable of if we’ll only commit.” —Seth Godin, author of Linchpin

Public Radio International’s Julie Burstein, creator of the award-winning program Studio 360, along with its host Kurt Andersen, offers a rare, fascinating glimpse into some of the 21st century's greatest creative minds—from Yo-Yo Ma and Robert Plant to Mira Nair and Chuck Close, to David Milch and Joyce Carol Oates, to Rosanne Cash and beyond. Fans of Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers, Daniel Pink’s A Whole New Mind, Rosamund Zander’s The Art of Possibility, and Lynda Barry’s What It Is will be enthralled and electrified by this unique look at the creative process of the world’s most talented and prolific artists.



About the Author

Julie Burstein is a Peabody Award-winning radio producer and TED speaker. Julie designed Studio 360 with Kurt Andersen for Public Radio International, and led the creative team at WNYC for many years. She's the host of Pursuit of Spark, conversations about creative approaches to the possibilities, challenges, and pleasures of everyday life.



Praise For Spark: How Creativity Works

“Spark is a beautiful book, enjoyable and filled with life...You will find yourself contemplating the origin of the little lights, the sparks, which show themselves only when someone special looks within.”
— Philadelphia Inquirer

“This is a book about joy, drive and art, work that we’re all capable of if we’ll only commit.”
— Seth Godin, author of Linchpin

“Through enlightening conversations, these creative individuals demonstrate how they lift raw materials out of familiar contexts and create art that changes how we perceive the world.”
— Publishers Weekly

“Burstein offers enlightening answers from the culture’s heavy hitters, as well as the process by which they stoked these embers into a roaring fire, and how you, yes, you, might too.”
— Vanity Fair

“Spark is an encyclopedia of inspiration plucked from today’s most revered creators, leaving you not with a one-size-fits-all blueprint to creativity but with a petri dish of eclectic insights for you to distill, cross-pollinate and fertilize into a richer understanding of your own creative life.”
— Maria Popova, Brain Pickings

“How better to learn about creativity than to talk with some of the world’s most creative people.”
— Detroit Free Press