Skip to main content
Cover for Someone Will Be with You Shortly

Someone Will Be with You Shortly

Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life

Lisa Kogan

Paperback

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“[Kogan’s] wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all.” — Martha Beck, author of Expecting Adam and Finding Your Own North Star

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy. If David Sedaris were a girl... this is the book he’d write.” — Evan Handler, author of It's Only Temporary

Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a collection of the hilarious and poignant essays from beloved O Magazine columnist Lisa Kogan. Writing in the vein of Nora Ephron, Kogan has been called "the Erma Bombeck of our generation" (Kelly Corrigan, author of The Middle Place and Lift). In Someone Will Be with You Shortly, she brings her trademark humor to such real-life quandaries as single motherhood, aging, and sex.



Praise For Someone Will Be with You Shortly: Notes from a Perfectly Imperfect Life

“It’s no mystery why O magazine’s Lisa Kogan is a beloved columnist. She’s self-deprecating enough to be easily relatable, whimsical enough to be reliably entertaining, and clever enough to disguise a gut-socking revelation.” — Elle

“Kogan’s riffs on motherhood, politics, relationships, and life itself are what we wish we’d said, only sharper and funnier. This is good stuff.” — O magazine

“If Lisa Kogan didn’t exist, Nora Ephron would have to invent her. In essays that disarm and delight, Kogan’s take on contemporary living is as irrepressibly savvy as a Prada diaper bag, as reassuringly satisfying as a PB-and-J sandwich.” — Booklist

“In delectable bite-size essays, humor columnist Kogan casts an all-seeing eye on the annoying and hilarious idiosyncrasies of contemporary life.” — Redbook Magazine

“Her wry observations of everyday life will hearten you on your worst days, validate you on your best, and make you laugh any day at all. Buy it, if not to keep Lisa writing, then as an investment in your own happiness. God knows you deserve one fail-safe investment.” — Martha Beck, author of Expecting Adam and Finding Your Own North Star

“Lisa Kogan has a singularly humane stance as she makes comic sense of the annoying and baffling facts of life. The inventor of ‘the dessert potato’ has made me laugh for years–she’s been a comfort, too.” — Amy Hempel, author of The Collected Stories

“Lisa Kogan might just be the Erma Bombeck of our generation. Sassy, blunt, and so damn true.” — Kelly Corrigan, author of The Middle Place and LIFT

“Kogan delivers stylish and funny meditations on being a single mom, Rush Limbaugh, modern media and much more. There’s laughter here, sure, but this book winningly rises above comedy to reveal a moving love of life.” — Time Out New York

“The ultimate summer read—engrossing yet light and fun. From page one you’ll be laughing as the author shares her smile-inducing anecdotes.” — First for Women

“Lisa Kogan is the intellectual and creative love child of Noel Coward and Loretta Lynn. Someone Will Be With You Shortly is a hilarious, honest and tender chronical of everyday life as most of us really live it. Lisa Kogan sings all the right grace notes with absolutely perfect pitch.” — Amy Dickinson, author of The Mighty Queens of Freeville

“Lisa Kogan’s Someone Will Be with You Shortly is a delectable blend of wit, whimsy, pith, and poignancy. If David Sedaris were a girl (who’d had her pocket book licked by a stranger on Lexington Avenue) this is the book he¹d write.” — Evan Handler, author of It's Only Temporary

“I admit it. I’m a big, drooling Lisa Kogan groupie. I’d read the ingredients on a cereal box if I thought she’d written them. She is funny, wise, compelling, loveable, fallible…So a whole book by her? What heaven!!” — Peggy Orenstein, author of Waiting for Daisy

“Lisa Kogan’s Someone Will Be with You Shortly is like curling up with your best, crabbiest, kindest, wisest, most singular friend on earth.” — Peter Smith, author of Two of Us: The Story of a Father, a Son, and the Beatles

Harper Perennial, 9780061735035, 208pp.

Publication Date: March 1, 2011



About the Author

Lisa Kogan is the writer-at-large for O, The Oprah Magazine. She lives in New York City with her seven-year-old daughter.