The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Loving: How Dogs Have Captured Our Hearts for Thousands of Years (Paperback)

How Dogs Have Captured Our Hearts for Thousands of Years

By Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson

Harper Paperbacks, 9780061771101, 249pp.

Publication Date: October 18, 2011

Advertisement

Description

Dog lovers get ready - Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, international bestselling author of Dogs Never Lie About Love (which the San Francisco Chronicle calls "winning and wise," and "a charming paean to our best friends"), is back with an inspiring, heart-warming, and deeply personal exploration of the unique relationship between humans and dogs. As in When Elephants Weep, The Face on Your Plate, an The Pig Who Sang to the Moon, Masson blends cultural mythology, scientific research, and stories of his own experiences to tackle deep questions about the emotional lives of humans and animals. His compelling, elegant, and often humorous narrative about the love people feel for dogs (perfect for fans of John Grogan's Marley & Me) gives a new perspective on the extraordinary relationship between our species.



Praise For The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Loving: How Dogs Have Captured Our Hearts for Thousands of Years

“I greatly enjoyed this remarkable book, not only for it’s captivating narrative, but also for fascinating information which will surprise even those who love animals and are attuned to the natural world. Jeffrey Masson writes amazing books, and this one is true to form. It’s excellent.”
-Elizabeth Marshall Thomas, author of The Hidden Life of Dogs

“In his story of Benjy, the dog who couldn’t stop loving, Masson does a thought-provoking job of leveling the playing field between us and other species while also posing fascinating questions about the emotional makeup of our closest companion in the animal kingdom, our dogs.”
-Ted Kerasote, author of Merle’s Door

“Masson is at his most personal and appealing in this book, especially when he writes about Benjy.”
-Publishers Weekly

“An enjoyable book for dog lovers.”
-Kirkus Reviews

Advertisement