Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal (Hardcover)

One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal

By Conor Grennan

William Morrow, 9780061930058, 304pp.

Publication Date: January 25, 2011

Summer 2012 Reading Group

“Grennan takes a year off from his job with the EastWest Institute and volunteers for three months in a Nepalese orphanage. He is captivated by his lively and affectionate young charges, but the story grows darker as he learns more about the for-profit traffic in young children stolen from their families and villages. Grennan vows to return to help reunite the children with their families, and the story of his fulfillment of that quest is powerful and moving.”
— Sarah Goddin, Quail Ridge Books, Raleigh, NC
View the List

February 2011 Indie Next List

“Grennan takes a year off from his job with the EastWest Institute and volunteers for three months in a Nepalese orphanage. He is captivated by his lively and affectionate young charges, but the story grows darker as he learns more about the for-profit traffic in young children stolen from their families and villages. Grennan vows to return to help reunite the children with their families, and the story of his fulfillment of that quest is powerful and moving.”
— Sarah Goddin, Quail Ridge Books, Raleigh, NC
View the List
Advertisement

Description

"Funny, touching, tragic....A remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land--and one man's extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents."
--Neil White, author of In the Sanctuary of Outcasts

Little Princes is the epic story of Conor Grennan's battle to save the lost children of Nepal and how he found himself in the process. Part Three Cups of Tea, part Into Thin Air, Grennan's remarkable memoir is at once gripping and inspirational, and it carries us deep into an exotic world that most readers know little about.



Praise For Little Princes: One Man's Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal

In the tradition of “Three Cups of Tea” and “Mountains Beyond Mountains,” this book provides proof (there cannot be too much) of the value of volunteer work.
-Los Angeles Times

“With a light touch and refreshing candor, Grennan in Little Princes tells the story of how a good-looking University of Virginia grad with wanderlust ended up risking his life to find, then reunite, children with their families in Nepal, one of the poorest countries in the world.”
-USA Today

“The beauty of this book is partly the fact that it is a memoir. But it is also more than that. I defy you to not be inspired or moved by this saga.”
-New York Journal of Books

“The author stumbles into volunteering in an orphanage in Nepal and gets involved in reuniting trafficked children with their families. The energy of these children will make you laugh even though they’ve been through hardship and loss.”
-San Francisco Chronicle Book Review

“While the story is amazing, sincere and touching, it is also a pleasure to see how the author grows, both in personality and style over the five years that the memoir covers.”
-Seattle Post-Intelligencer

“Grennan’s work is by turns self-pokingly humorous, exciting, and inspiring.”
-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“‘Little Princes’ is a tale of determination, courage and love that will not leave you unchanged.”
-Daytona Beach News

“Funny, touching, tragic. Conor Grennan’s Little Princes is a remarkable tale of corruption, child trafficking and civil war in a far away land — and one man’s extraordinary quest to reunite lost Nepalese children with their parents.”
-Neil White, author of In the Sanctuary of Outcasts



Book Videos



Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

  1. What most impressed you about the author and the children with whom he came into contact? Did any aspect of the story upset you? Did Conor’s story inspire you? 
  2. In your opinion, what was it about these children that touched Conor so deeply? Were you moved by their plight? What about the increasing number of children growing up in poverty in America? Do you see these children in the same way, or do you see their situations differently? 
  3. How might American children help their counterparts in places like Nepal? Thinking about the Little Princes, do you think we as Americans spoil our children and ourselves—do we buy more than what can truly be appreciated? 
  4. When Conor returned to Nepal he met the mother of one of the Little Princes. How did this affect him personally? And how did it influence the course of events that followed? 
  5. How did volunteering at Little Princes prepare Conor for having a family of his own? What did these children teach him about himself and the world? 
  6. At the beginning of Little Princes, Conor did not see himself as a global humanitarian, yet his visit to Nepal changed everything. What is it about him—and others like him introduced in Little Princes—that sets him apart from those who don’t volunteer or get involved? 
  7. How did Golkka, the man who trafficked many of these children, get away with his nefarious practices for so long? Human trafficking has become a worldwide problem, affecting millions. Why has it flourished and what steps might help stop it? How might you play a role? Would you consider doing so? Why or why not? 
  8. Do you empathize with the parents of the Little Princes children and others? Do you understand why they gave their children up? What might you do given similar circumstances?
  9. What lessons did you take away from reading Little Princes?
Advertisement