Firelight (Hardcover)

By Sophie Jordan

HarperCollins, 9780061935084, 336pp.

Publication Date: September 7, 2010

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The first book in an addictive, romantic trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Tahereh Mafi, and Claudia Gray.

With her rare ability to breathe fire, Jacinda is special even among the draki—the descendants of dragons who can shift between human and dragon forms.

But when Jacinda’s rebelliousness forces her family to flee into the human world, she struggles to adapt, even as her draki spirit fades. The one thing that revives it is the gorgeous, elusive Will, whose family hunts her kind. Jacinda can’t resist getting closer to him, even though she knows she’s risking not only her life but the draki’s most closely guarded secret.

Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide, from New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan.



About the Author

Sophie Jordan grew up on a pecan farm in the Texas hill country, where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's also the New York Times bestselling author of Avon historical romances and the Firelight series. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows.



Praise For Firelight

“Magnificent and masterful! A world so captivating, you’ll never want to leave!”
— Kerrelyn Sparks, New York Times bestselling author

“Jordan’s compelling addition to the supernatural star–crossed lovers theme is equal parts taut suspense and sensuous romance.”
— Booklist

“Just surrender to the sizzle.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Jordan executes a refreshing and exciting tale of forbidden supernatural love and desire. Jacinda is strong and spunky, just like her story. Readers won’t be able to put down this remarkable YA debut. An ethereal series start, Firelight should not be missed.”
— Romantic Times Starred Review

“Jacinda and Will’s intensely sexy scenes together will leave romance readers fired up for the planned sequel.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books